Double Manual

Peter de Jager

A performance by pianist Peter de Jager is more than just a recital: it is a journey into wild and rarely reachable terrain.

Having conquered the peaks of Boulez, Ives and Alkan—unscalable for most pianists— de Jager now leads us into the miraculous world of Iannis Xenakis, composer, architect, engineer and polymath. 

The five works de Jager has chosen offer not only proof of Xenakis’ bona fide claim to genius, but also a succinct history of new music from 1961 to 1984. Equally at home on piano and harpsichord, de Jager will shine a light on one of the most interesting composers of the recent era.

Xenakis Evryali (1973), for Piano

Xenakis Khoaï (1976), for Harpsichord

Xenakis Mists (1980), for Piano

Xenakis Naama (1984), for Harpsichord

Xenakis Herma (1961), for Piano

Presented in association with Melbourne Recital Centre

This programme was first presented at the 2016 Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory Music. 

PHOTO | Lucia Ondrusova